dan o'brien

 

upcoming performances 

2016 ​ 


Sunday, December 25 (10am) - Canton Saxophone Quartet

St. Patrick's Church, Collinsville, CT


Saturday, December 31 - Simply Swing

​Bloomfield, CT


2017


Friday, January 6 (8pm) - Tyto Alba and Tracer

presented by Journeys in Sound

Somerville Armory, Somerville, MA

(Tracer is Steven Long, Drew Wesely, myself, and a couple of guests)

Click Here for Facebook Event Page


Sunday, January 15 (8-10pm) - Ad hoc Music Series #2

Improv Night with Guest Artists TBA

Outpost 186, Hampshire Street, Cambridge, MA


Tuesday, March 7 (8-9pm) - Dan O'Brien DMA Recital #1

Small and Medium Ensembles

Pierce Hall at New England Conservatory

St. Botolph Street, Boston, MA

 

past performances


2016


Sunday, December 18 - Ad hoc Music Series #1

Ad Nauseum + Ides

Outpost 186, Hampshire Street, Cambridge, MA


Tuesday, December 6 - NEC Cobra Ensemble

(performances of John Zorn's game piece Cobra directed by Anthony Coleman)

Lilypad Inman, Cambridge, MA


Friday, December 2 - CI Salon Night

Duo with Drew Wesely

Armory Cafe, Somerville, MA 


Monday, November 21 - CI Salon Night

Survivor's Breakfast and Cobra Ensemble

Pierce Hall at New England Conservatory

*Debut of my piece Event Structure II by Survivor's Breakfast*


Saturday, November 19 (7:00pm) - PEK Leap of Faith Orchestra
"Supernovae" at Somerville Armory 
Somerville, MA


Monday, November 14 - "America? America!"
Contemporary Improvisation Department Concert
Jordan Hall at New England Conservatory
*Debut performance of my piece Fanfare for the Singularities*


Friday, November 11 - Simply Swing
Veterans Day Concert 
328 North Main Street, East Longmeadow, MA​


Saturday, November 5 - Simply Swing
Baltic Restaurant - Fundraiser Event
Berlin, CT


Monday, October 24 - Middle Barge with other groups...
Midway Cafe, Jamaica Plain
3496 Washington St, Boston, MA


Thursday, October 13 - The Painters 

Guest Artists for Jazz at Schwemm's Series - Schwemm's Coffee House

Amherst College

220 South Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA


Sunday, October 9 (8:00pm) - PEK Leap of Faith Orchestra + Sub-Units
"Encryption Schemes" at Lilypad
​1353 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA


Saturday, October 8 - Simply Swing
Wedding
Torrington, CT​​


Saturday, October 1 - Simply Swing
Kent, CT


Saturday, September 17 (6:30pm) - Simply Swing
Riverfront Recapture Mortensen Riverfront Plaza
Hartford, CT


Thursday, September 15 (6:30pm) - Simply Swing
Senior Center 
300 Park Avenue, Bloomfield, CT


Saturday, September 10 (8:00pm) - Mercy Killing
Uncertainty Music Series
Never Ending Books, State Street, New Haven, CT 


Friday, September 9 (7:00pm) - The Painters​
Main Stage
Downtown Collinsville, CT


Saturday, August 27 (8:00pm) - The Painters
The Buttonwood Tree
Main Street, Middletown, CT​


Saturday, August 20 (8:00pm) - Mercy Killing (w/ Grant Beale/Zack Bartolomei) 
with two groups curated by Nick Di Maria
The Buttonwood Tree
Main Street, Middletown, CT


Tuesday, August 16 (6:00pm) - Simply Swing
Pomperaug Woods
Southbury, CT


Sunday, August 14 (2:00pm) - Simply Swing
Iwo Jima Memorial 
Ella Grasso Blvd, New Britain, CT


Thursday, August 4 (7:00pm) - Simply Swing
Henry Park, Vernon, CT


Sunday, July 31 - The Painters
Collinsville Farmers Market, Collinsville, CT

Thursday, July 28 - Middle Barge with New Language Collaborative and Fable Grazer
unCharted Gallery, Lowell, MA


Friday, July 22 and Saturday, July 30 - "West Side Story"

Summer Theatre of New Canaan

Waveny Park, New Canaan, CT


Thursday, July 21 (7:00pm) - Simply Swing
Gazebo, Alice Clover Penney Park, School Street, Unionville CT

Friday, July 15 (7:00pm) - Simply Swing
Old Grove Park, West Haven, CT

Wednesday, July 13 (7:00pm) - Simply Swing
Ansonia Cultural Commission Concert Series 
Veterans Park, Main Street, Ansonia, CT

Thursday, July 7 (6:00pm) - Simply Swing
Mill Pond Park, Newington, CT

Monday, July 4 (2:00pm) - Simply Swing
The Commons, West Springfield, MA

Thursday, June 23 (8 - 11:00pm) - The Painters
The 9th Note Jazz Supper Club
15 Bank Street, Stamford, CT

Saturday, June 11 (12 - 1:30pm) - Simply Swing
Mark Twain House 
351 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT

Friday, June 3 (8 - 11:00pm) - Nobuki Takamen Quartet
The 9th Note Jazz Supper Club
15 Bank Street, Stamford, CT

Thursday, May 19 (7 - 10:00pm) - The Painters
Lan Chi's Restaurant
505 Main Street, Middletown, CT

Saturday, May 14 (2:00pm) - The Painters
Integrity 'n Music
506 Silas Deane Hwy, Wethersfield, CT

Thursday, May 12 (6:30pm) - Simply Swing
Enes Community Center 
Nevers Road, South Windsor, CT

Friday/Sat/Sun, May 6-8 (7:00pm, 2:00pm Sunday matinee) - "Mary Poppins" (bari sax)
Stafford High School
145 Orcuttville Road, Stafford, CT

Wednesday, May 4 - Private Function
New Rochelle, NY


Friday/Saturday, April 29-30 (7:30pm) - "West Side Story" (picc, fl, cl, tenor)
Greater Hartford Academy of the Arts
Main Stage Theater - Learning Corridor
15 Vernon Street, Hartford, CT


Friday, April 22 (7:00pm) - Simply Swing
Senior Center
328 North Main Street, East Longmeadow, MA


February 28, 2016 - Steve Niemitz Quartet (w/ Grant Beale and Josh Paquette)

Outpost 186, Cambridge, MA


February 21, 2016 - Improvisations :: Arcade, with Joe Morris, Stephen Haynes, Kirsten Lamb, Zach Rowden, Matt Rousseau 

Real Art Ways, 56 Arbor Street, Hartford, CT.


February 13, 2016 - Steve Niemitz Quartet (with Grant Beale and Josh Paquette)
Uncertainty Music Series, Never Ending Books, New Haven, CT


January 8, 2016 - Nobuki Takamen Quintet (with Warren Byrd, Silvain Castellano, and George Mastrogiannis)
The 9th Note Jazz Supper Club, Bank Street, Stamford


2015


December 31, 2015 - Simply Swing (tenor/clarinet) - Private New Year's Party
Bloomfield, CT


December 25, 2015 - Canton Saxophone Quartet Annual Christmas Mass
St. Patrick's Church, Collinsville, CT

December 17, 2015 - Simply Swing (lead alto) - Private Holiday Party

The Aqua Turf Club, Southington, CT


December 11, 2015 (8 - 10pm) - George Mastrogiannis Group (The Painters) 

Improvised Tribute to Rock 
The Buttonwood Tree, Main Street, Middletown, CT​


August 22, 2015 (6:30 - 8:30pm) - Simply Swing (lead alto) - Great River Park Amphitheater, 
East River Drive, East Hartford.


August 19, 2015 (7 - 9pm) - Simply Swing (lead alto) - Veterans Park, 200 Main Street, Ansonia, CT.


​August 12, 2015 (6 - 8pm) - Simply Swing (lead alto) - Brodie Park, New Hartford, CT.


​June 6, 2015 (8 - 10pm) - George Mastrogiannis Quintet (tenor, clarinet, flute) - The Buttonwood Tree,

Main Street, Middletown, CT. 


​April 4, 2015 (2 - 3pm) - George Mastrogiannis Quintet (tenor, clarinet) - Integrity 'N Music,

506 Silas Deane Highway, Wethersfield, CT


​March 27, 2015 (8 - 11pm) - Nobuki Takamen Quartet (tenor) - The 9th Note, Orange Street, New Haven, CT.