I am launching Phonoemulsion Records in 2021 as a means of finally documenting many of the incredible musical relationships that I've built through about a decade of work in and around Connecticut. This state has always had creative musical personalities doing their thing, often somewhat under the radar, and even as I've worked in the Boston and New York scenes in recent years, there's something about the pace of things in Connecticut that makes for interesting improvised and creative music output. Going forward, the goal is to document as many projects and working relationships as possible from the folks with whom I most enjoy making music.

The first three releases are set to drop on September 18, and I am excited to share some beautiful sets of music that I've been fortunate to make with good friends. Verdigris shows a depth of range from traditional string playing to noise from Silvain Castellano on the fairly rare viola da gamba.  Labyrinth features a broad mix of textures and velocities with Grant Beale on guitar, and Hiatus showcases Michael Larocca's range from idiomatic drum set playing to free-wheeling percussion on numerous objects. 

I was able to record several additional sessions over the past few months and already have another five albums scheduled to release between now and February! Check back regularly for the latest news, and I hope you enjoy the ethos of creativity and diverse musical interaction that I aim to cultivate in these projects.  

                                                                                       - Dan O'Brien, 2021

Visit Phonoemulsion Records on Bandcamp to listen and purchase our records:


dan o'brien - phonoemulsion records


Coming September 18, 2021 - open for preorders now!

Verdigris (PER 001)
​Dan O'Brien (baritone sax, clarinet, bass clarinet), Silvain Castellano (viola da gamba)

Labyrinth (PER 002)
Dan O'Brien (alto, tenor, baritone saxes, clarinet, bass clarinet), Grant Beale (guitar)

Hiatus (PER 003)
Dan O'Brien (alto, tenor, baritone saxes, clarinet, flute), Michael Larocca (drums/percussion)